Southland Indoor Champs

11th September, 2019

2019 Southland Indoor Champs

The 2019 Southland Indoor Champs was held on Saturday 7 September.
I had high expectations for this meeting and it didn’t disappoint! From the attendance to helpers to quality of the racing it was a stunning two days. Mega thanks to Russell IrvineDave HarrisNigel Hicks and Andrew Brown, for the Friday track uplift from the Y.
Two point five hours from venue entry to track open for hot laps... more helpers arrived for this task.
All Friday avo and evening was free practice, with Livetime calling every lap to gauge our improvements. A brilliant addition this year and super fun. As intense as racing playing “who’s the fastest” game.
Saturday - Race Day. Greg Fordyce chose our concourse winner, Danny Lang.
Three heats and three finals. Some of the most fun and intense racing I’ve ever experienced unfolded as the day progressed. The Wallacetown track - designed by teenager Jack Irvine - is probably the fastest and most flowing indoor track in New Zealand, so much so we’ve all agreed to use it the past 4 years in a row.
Adele Beck and Dianne Irvine prepared an amazing buffet lunch for all the racers to fill up on.
Eventual winners of the event were presented with their custom made Southland trophies at the conclusion of pack out. Marcus Sargent winner of Mini.
Jack Irvine retains TC stock U17.
Regan Carter pockets TC stock 21.5.
Mark Harling tops TC Super Stock 13.5.
Danny Lang first in Short Course Truck.
Chris Taylor P1 again in 2wd Buggy.
Giga thanks to Chris Harris and Nathan Fryer representing Otago for attending.
Two true champions are Chris Taylor and Mark Harling from Canterbury and Marlborough who have attended every Southland Champs. Amazing and appreciated.
Super turnout from our local racers. Thumbs up Invercargill RC Racers!

Written By: David Beck

NZRCA © 2024